• Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© Nina de Pass 2018

For fans of Nina LaCour and Jennifer Niven, a richly layered novel that's both uplifting and heartbreaking, about piecing yourself together after loss and the dark truths we choose to keep from each other and ourselves.

San Francisco. New Year's Eve. A tragic accident after the party of the year. Cara survives. Her best friend, G, doesn't.

Nine months later, Cara is still struggling, consumed by guilt and grief. In the hopes of giving Cara a fresh start, her mother sends her to boarding school in Switzerland, a place where no one knows what happened--and where they never will, if Cara can help it.

But her new classmates Ren and Hector won't let her close herself off. They are determined to break down the walls she has so carefully built up. And maybe Cara wants them to . . . especially Hector, who seems to understand her like no one else does.

The problem is that the closer Cara gets to Hector, the more G slips away. If moving on means letting go of the past--and admitting what she did that night--Cara's not sure she can.

She's not sure she deserves a second chance.

Add it on Goodreads and you can pre-order a copy from one of the below retailers:

USA:

Amazon 

Barnes & Noble 

 

CANADA:

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

The Year After You will be published by Delacorte Press in the US and Canada on March 30th, 2020. 

 

 

'A skilful, compelling story with intrigue that keeps you whipping over the pages.'

-SOPHIE KINSELLA, author of Finding Audrey
 

'A poignant, touching story of grief and guilt that you will hold tight until the very last page . . . I loved this sad, beautiful, hopeful book.'

-KATHLEEN GLASGOW, author of Girl in Pieces
 

'An exploration of grief and loss that breathes new life into the boarding school genre.' 

– LAUREN JAMES, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

'A hugely moving, thoughtful and sensitively written story about friendship and growing up.' 

– SOPHIA MONEY-COUTTS, author of The Plus One

'It tugs at your heart strings and gives hope to those recovering from the loss of a loved one. Watching Cara slowly allow her heart to thaw after being frozen in so much pain was truly beautiful.' 

– AKEMI DAWN BOWMAN, author of Starfish and Summer Bird Blue

'A poignant story of grief and guilt, hope and healing, set against the backdrop of a Swiss boarding school. Beautifully written and very touching.'

– SOPHIE CAMERON, author of Out of the Blue